NSTU started its academic activities formally on 22 June 2006 with 4 departments, 14 teachers, and 184 Students, Moreover, at present, there are 29 teachers, 695 students,
and 139 employees, who are breathing new lives into vast coastal area.

Noakhali Science and Technology University (Bengali: নোয়াখালী বিজ্ঞান ও প্রযুক্তি বিশ্ববিদ্যালয়) popularly known as NSTU, is a newly established public university in the coastal terrain Noakhali of Banlgadesh. It is the 27th public university (out of 32 ) and fifth science and technology university in Bangladesh. Its foundation stone was laid on 11 Octorber 2003 and academic activities started on 22 June 2006. Now It has three faculties and Ten departments. NSTU has about undergraduate and postgraduate students. It has 70 teachers.

General Information
Engineering and Technology: Applied Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Computer Science and Telecommunication Engineering
Life Science: Pharmacy, Fisheries and Marine Science, Microbiology, Mathematics, Food Technology and Nutrition Science, Environmental Science and Hazard Studies
Business Administration: English, BBA

Major departments::
1 Applied Chemistry & Chemical Engineering (ACCE)
2 Computer Science and Telecommunication Engineering (CSTE)
3 Fisheries and Marine Science (FIMS)
4 Pharmacy
5 Microbiology
6 Mathematics
7 English
8 Environmental Science and Hazard Studies
9 Food Technology and Nutrition Science
10 BBA.
Minor departments::
1 Basic Engineering (Electrical and Mechanical)
2 Physics

Vice chancellors
Professor Dr. Abul Khayer (24.03.2005–20.05.2008)
Professor Dr. Sanjoy Kumar Adhikary (22.05.2008–30.09.2010)
Professor A K M Sayedul Haque Chowdhury (30.09.2010–present)